Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy (book review)

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy was written by Karen Foxlee.  Her previous young adult novels include The Anatomy of Wings and The Midnight Dress.

Description:

A1XVT5p-dnL.jpg

A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

I read this description before reading the book... but reading it again after completing the book I really understand their comment on "a story within a story".  There are so many things going on.  So many relationships that are important and could be focused on for even more meaning.  Ophelia and her father, Ophelia and her sister, Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy, the father and sister, Ophelia and her mother, the Marvelous Boy and the Snow Queen, Ophelia and the Snow Queen.... there could be so many side stories.  The story would be SO different from another point of view.  I love that.  (The teacher in me could totally see having a class read the book, and then write something from the perspective of another character.)

As I was reading Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy I couldn't stop thinking "Zoe will love this story."  It's full of mystery, and puzzles, and magic.  There's enough adventure... without being too much for my 8 year old.  I love that the book is set in a museum.  Ophelia is such an observant child.  As you read you really pick up details of the story as it unfolds through Ophelia's eyes.  I love being with her while she wanders the museum and solves the mysteries within.  I could totally imagine Zoe reading and not wanting to put the book down.

I also found myself completely relating to living in a world of cold and snow.  We've definitely been getting a true Winter here in NJ this year!  I'm starting to think maybe we have a Snow Queen somewhere in town!